What Ruben Dias Said After He Became 4th Defender To Win Premier League Player Of The Season

Ruben Dias wins PFA

  • Manchester City defender and centre back, Ruben Dias of Portugal has won the just concluded EPL season with the award of Premier League Player Of The Season
  • Ruben Dias came top ahead of the likes of Harry Kane of Tottenham Hotspur; Bruno Fernandes of Manchester United, among other contenders

While some football fans and pundits believe Dias deserved the award, others stated that Harry Kane should have been named.

Some other players nominated were Kevin De Bruyne of Manchester City, Ilkay Gundogan of Manchester City and Phil Foden of Manchester City

READ THIS TOO: What Football Fans Said About Romelu Lukaku’s Fight In Belgium Vs Greece

After winning the Award, Ruben Dias who is one of the Portuguese defenders going to Euro 2020 stated that:

“Fantastic to finish the season off by being named Premier League Player of the Season! A reward for all the team who worked so hard to bring our fans the title. Thank you to the captains, panel and fans who voted for me. We’ll see you in a few months to do it all over again!”

The defenders, who have won the Premier League of the season are: Vidic (won it twice), Kompany, Van Dijk and the fourth being Ruben Dias.

Presented below are the defenders and the seasons they won the Premier League Player Of The Season:

◎ Nemanja Vidić (08/09)
◎ Nemanja Vidić (10/11)
◎ Vincent Kompany (11/12)
◎ Virgil Van Dijk (18/19)
◉ Rúben Dias (20/21)

Will Ruben Dias win the Award a second time like Nemanja Vidic or will he win it at least three times before he leaves Manchester City? Time will surely tell.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button